Oligerta Alidri
Ref# PG0141

About Me
My name is Oligerta Alidri. I'm a 16-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
September 1, 2005.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Pogradec

Program Country

Albania

My Story

Hello! My name is Oligerta Alidri. I am 16 years old and my birthday is on September 1st. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is blue and my future dream is to be a lawyer. I like dealing with sports and spent my free time playing volleyball with my friends, every time I get a chance to play with them. I will attend at the end of September the first grade of high school in Perrenjas. This town is not far from where I live and the nearest town that has high school so my friends form my village and I go there to take the lessons. I have already received the books from the teachers in school and my parents have bought to me the school supplies so that I can have a good start. Schools were closed for the summer break from June and till September. I am very excited to return to school after the long summer break we passed. Because of the pandemic, we are going to respect the distancing during this school year and have to keep masks, but I am happy that we are going to take the lessons physically and not online. The subject that I enjoy to study the most at school is Literature.  We have quick access to the town of Perrenjas and Pogradec and during the weekends we as family go for shopping or just for a day out in these towns. I always do my best to help my parents at home with all that I can offer to do for them. I help my mother with the cleaning and with the housekeeping.

My father’s name is Blerim and my mother’s name is Nexhmije. I have two sisters who are older. They are married already and have their families. I have become an aunt. One of my sisters has been married in Pogradec and she is part of the church there. She has taken me to church and as I have frequented regularly, I was suggested to join the sponsorship programme of Adopt a Child. My sister, her husband and their whole family believe in the Lord Jesus and my sister’ s mother in law works for Living Water International. My father is working for the water company of our village and he receives a monthly pay. His pay is small and we are not fully covered in our needs for the living. We face financial hardships, same as all the people who live in the village. The community of Rajca is a large community and because the village is very big, we have only a small portion of land belonging to our family. My mother can only plant vegetables and we are happy that we can consume fresh vegetables as peppers, tomatoes and beans. At present my mother has collected the last vegetables from our garden. We don’t raise animals because they need lots of food provision. The income that my father brings is less and we remain in poverty therefore I am very happy to be part of the sponsorship programme and to benefit help and care from it.

The Living Water Adopt a Child church in Pogradec is helping the children in need through the sponsorship programme of Adopt a Child. The church has meetings for the children, youth and adults three days a week. On Monday we have the men’s meeting and on Thursday, the ladies’ meeting. The youth meeting is on Saturdays and in the same day, we have the church service and the Bible classes for the children. The children receive every six weeks a package containing food as pasta, rice, sugar, oil, etc. In their need for food this is a great help to the children and their families. We are thankful to each of the sponsors for the great support they provide for the children in the church of Pogradec. God bless you in abondance.

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania