Yoselin Margarita Tzoy de la Cruz
Ref# PA2100

About Me
My name is Yoselin Margarita Tzoy de la Cruz. I'm a 5-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
March 2, 2017.
Attends Program

Pasojoc

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiche, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiche Mayans who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

I am Yoselin Margarita Tzoy de la Cruz, and I am in good health. I was born on March 2nd in Zacualpa Village. We live far away from the feeding program, and it usually takes me a 2-hour walk to get there with my siblings. I am not at school. In my free time, I enjoy playing tag, and my favorite color is pink. I like dogs, and my favorite meal is fried chicken. My father sustains us by working as a day laborer while my mother takes care of us and the house. I have 7 brothers and 4 sisters, and they are all healthy too. We attend the Catholic Church. We live in our own and humble house made of adobe, tin sheet roof and cemented floor. There are 3 rooms and a kitchen. We have electricity that my father pays for, but we get water from a small river by a hose. We have some chickens at home. But, as many other families, we have necessities to be covered. We are praying for God to help us change our roof because it is very damaged.  Lastly, I want to express my gratitude because God blesses me through Living Water and you.

Best wishes,

Yoselin Margarita Tzoy de la Cruz

Translated by: Mireya de Sandoval, AAC Secretary / Antigua