Max Olivar


Gender Male
Birth Date Aug 13, 2006
Age 13 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chixocol
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Max Olivar Ventura Riquiac.  I was born on August 13, 2006.  I am a healthy child and I walk about 2 hours to get to the feeding program.  My father’s name is Sebastian and he has a small pharmacy in our town.  My mother’s name is Tomasa and she takes care of our home and our domestic animals.  We own the house in which we live.  It is made of adobe with a tile roof and a cement floor.  The house has six rooms and a separate kitchen.  We have water and electricity.  My family has some pigs, sheep, hens, dogs and cats.  I am in 6th grade, and in my free time, I like to play soccer.  My favorite color is green and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are apples and fried chicken.  My family attends a Catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Max Olivar Venturo Riquiac

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00