Geri Sulollari
Ref# UMD0050

About Me
My name is Geri Sulollari. I'm a 11-year-old.

My birthday is
July 22, 2009.
Sponsorship Type


Attends Program

Upper Mokra

Program Country


My Story

Hello! My name is Geri Sulollari. I am an 11 year old boy and my birthday is on July 22nd. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is black and my future dream is to be a Police. I attend the 6th grade at school and am doing well with the lessons. The subject I like to study the most at school is History. Even that I don’t have good conditions to study, I try my best and give my maximum to earn good evaluation marks from my teachers. Because of the Pandemic, when we attend school, we need to keep the distancing and wear our masks inside the class. Right after school, at midday, when I return home, I offer myself to help my mother with what I can offer, like bringing the fire wood inside from our court, running to get something quick from the shop when my mother is asking me, etc. I like to get together with my friends to play outside, but not for too long because the winters are too cold in our country. When my friends and I gather to play we usually choose to play fooball or have a walk around and chat between us.  My family and I live in Dunica. My village is located in Upper Mokra. The infrastructure is totally missing and the road of our village is in really bad conditions, filled with mud and with many holes that get filled with water during the fall. My father’s name is Petro and my mother’s name is Mimoza.  I have a 315 years old sister whose name is Erika.  Same as all the households who live in Dunica, my parents own land and deal with raising animals. This way, they are considered as self employed from the government. My parents plant crops and vegetables as well as alfalfa and oat which is food provision for the animals. My parents have made sure that by autumn, we have enough flour provided because my mother bakes the bread at home. We also have got beans and anions as well as some other vegetables like tomatoes, cabbages and peppers preserved in jars to consume during the winter. Around our land we have got also fruit trees and my mother has made jam or composts from apples, pears, grapes, nuts, etc. My parents care for a cow and we benefit milk and other sub products to consume daily. My father sells its calf and we earn a bit more of income to be used for other needs in the family. My father has also got a horse and he is collecting wood in the mountain recently. The price of the wood is high and we can’t offer to buy the wood we need to burn during the winter.  The land is less productive and whatever we gain from the animals is less profitable therefore the government is also giving to my family a small amount considered as assistance. This assistance is given to the poor families and all of us who live in Dunica being poor receive it.  I attend the program in Dunca. We gather to the house we meet for Bible studies and children’s meetings and I go there with my class friends. I attend the Bible studies for teens and enjoy my time there very much. During the week, there is also another meeting for the older persons where many ladies and men participate to study the Bible. Once a month I have been blessed with a package with groceries. This package contains sugar, oil, rice, flour as well as washing detergents. Same as all the people who live in Dunica my family and I live in poverty and we are thankful to the Adopt a Child sponsorship programme for the help and support to us. God bless you!

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a child Albania