Carlos Morente Coj
Ref# CC1546

About Me
My name is Carlos Morente Coj. I'm a 5-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
October 12, 2016.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Cuatro Caminos "four roads", where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life is this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Cuatro Caminos is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major crops.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! My name is Carlos Morente Coj and I am five years old. I was born on October 12, 2016. I attend the Cuatro Caminos feeding program. I am a healthy boy. I have five brothers and one sister. I am not attending school yet because I am still too young. I like to spend my time playing football and toy cars. My favorite color is blue and my favorite animal is the dove. I love to eat omelets. My father´s name Jeremias Morente Ruiz, and my mother´s name is Maria Coj Gomez. My father works as a farmer and as a day laborer. Occasionally, he goes to pick coffee beans at the coast. My mother is a housewife and raises hens and has a cow. We have our own house which is made of adobe, tin sheet roof and cement floor. We have one room with a separate kitchen. We do not have electricity, so we use a solar panel at night. We do not have running water, but our neighbor gives it to us because he has water well, and we get it from a hose. My siblings and I walk about thirty minutes to attend the feeding program. We attend Prince of Peace Church.

Blessings and much love,

Carlos Morente Coj

Translated by: Esther Hernández, AAC Secretary/Antigua