Jennifer Rosmery Mucun Lucas
Ref# JT2578

About Me
My name is Jennifer Rosmery Mucun Lucas. I'm a 6-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
July 14, 2015.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua.  It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry).  Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade.  Only one out of ten children finishes high school.  Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Jennifer Rosmery Mucun Lucas. I was born on July 14, 2015 and I am 6 years old. I am a healthy girl. My father’s name is Pedro Mucun Tiu, and he works in a barber’s shop. My mother’s name is Rosa Yabina Lucas Osorio, and she is a housewife; she sometimes makes tortillas or does the laundry of others to help with the income. I have one sister and one brother. My whole family is in good health. In July 2020, my father got Covid-19, and we had to be in quarantine for 15 days. My mother’s siblings supported us with food during this time, and we also put a white flag in our door to receive help from other people. Thank God, my father could overcome that situation and he is fine now. We are not attending church at the moment.

We rent a room in a three-storey house, and we pay Q400.00 quetzals ($54) every month; it includes the running water and electricity payment. Our room is made of concrete block with a terrace roof and concrete floor. We cook outside our room and we share the bathroom and sink with other families that rent a room in this house. I am in kindergarten this year and I am receiving study guides and delivering my homework every fifteen days. I play with my siblings and toys in my free time. I love pink color, and I like the cats and dogs. My favorite food are noodles and rice. I do not have pets because they are not allowed where we live. I usually walked for about 5 minutes to arrive to the feeding program, but due to the pandemic, the program had to close its doors. This is my personal information, and I hope you can find it interesting.

With much love

Jennifer Rosmery Mucun Lucas

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/AAC Secretary, Antigua