Abner Geovanny Marroquin Pena
Ref# JT2581

About Me
My name is Abner Geovanny Marroquin Pena. I'm a 7-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 24, 2013.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua.  It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry).  Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade.  Only one out of ten children finishes high school.  Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Abner Geovanny Marroquin Pena. I was born on December 24, 2013 and I am 8 years old. My father’s name is Erick Geovani Marroquin Pu, and he works as a jeweler. My mother’s name is Monica Yaneth Pena Gonzalez de Marroquin, and she is a housewife. I only have one sister. My family is in good health, and thank God, none of us has gotten Covid-19. In May, my mother took me to the health center because a kind of bruises appeared in my legs and we did not know why. I was referred to the hospital where they did me blood test and told my mother that I had a small anemia. The doctor prescribed me vitamins and to eat green food. My mother has taken me to the health center to see if I still have anemia but they only tell her that I need to continue taking medicine and eating green food; they do not give her a big explanation. We have not visited a private doctor or hospital due to our low resources, but I am sure that LW clinics will help me with it.

We live in a rented house and we pay Q300.00 quetzals ($40) per month. The house has running water but the electricity is provided by one of our neighbors and we give him a monthly amount for it. We have two rooms made of concrete block with a tin sheet roof and concrete floor. We use one room as bedroom and the other one as bedroom and kitchen because our space is limited.  I am in first grade this year and I am receiving study guides and delivering my homework at school every fifteen days. I read and play toy cars and soccer in my free time. I love blue color, and I like dogs. My favorite food is fried chicken. I do not have pets at home. I usually walked for about 5 minutes to arrive to the feeding program, but due to the pandemic, the program had to close its doors. We attend a church called “The Base is Christ”. This is my personal information, and I hope you can find it interesting.

With much love

Abner Geovanny Marroquin Pena

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/AAC Secretary, Antigua