Jose Miguel Quiroa Fuentes
Ref# NE2580

About Me
My name is Jose Miguel Quiroa Fuentes. I'm a 12-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
March 6, 2009.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Nueva Esperanza

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Zona 5 / Nueva Esperanza, which means New Hope, is located in a slum area of Guatemala City, Guatemala. An extremely poor area, our program is squeezed in among the shanty dwellings built over an old city dump.  Many houses in this area are without toilets or running water and are assembled with scrap wood, sheet metal, and cardboard.  Zone 5, where Nueva Esperanza is located, is considered one of the most dangerous areas of Guatemala City.  It is controlled by gangs and drug pushers.  Robberies and murders are common in this area.  Public education is available - however, many cannot afford it.  Life in Zone 5 is very difficult. This child lives on top of an old rubbish dump in Zone 5 of Guatemala City.  It is an extremely dangerous area where criminals, prostitutes and drug addicts live.

Hello! I hope that your life is full of rich blessings. My name is Jose Miguel Quiroa Fuenas. I am 12 years old, and I was born on March 6, 2009. I live in an area called Zone 5. My mother’s name is Ruth Nohemi Fuentes Perez, and my father’s name is Williams Moroni Quiroa Arroyo. I only have 1 sister. I am currently in school as a 5th grader. In my free time, I like to play ball, draw, and play the lottery. My mother gave the evangelism team my information over the phone because of COVID-19; they are avoiding as much physical contact as possible to keep everyone safe. We live in a home with my maternal grandparents in a very small house that only has 2 small rooms. It is located about a 20-minute walk away from the feeding program. It is made of block wall, the roof is made of tin sheet, and the floor is made of concrete. We do not have running water. Some neighbors sell us water once a week. My parents pay Q30 (about 4 USD) per week. We cook with firewood. My mother sells fruits covered in chocolate because she was left unemployed last year. That is how she gets her income. My father was unfortunately sentenced for 25 years in prison. My mother and I sleep in a small room that only fits a bunk bed, a dresser, and a small table where I can do my homework. As for my heath, thank God we are healthy. We attend Prince of Peace church. I am so grateful for God’s love and provision in my life.

With lots of love,

Jose Miguel Quiroa Fuenas

Translated by: Kalyan Marroquin / Missionary Intern