Naydelin Estefani


Gender Female
Birth Date Dec 20, 2010
Age 8 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Zacualpa
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

ZA4481

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Naydelin Estefani Batz Mendez.  I was born on December 20, 2010.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about five minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have two brothers and one sister.  I live with my mother and siblings.  Her name is Juana and she is dedicated to taking care of the house and of my siblings and me.  Sadly, my father abandoned us when we were very small.  He does not communicate with us, nor does he help us economically.  My mother has a new husband now.  His name is Miguel and he works as a day laborer and helps with the expenses.  We rent a house that has two rooms and a kitchen. We pay Q350 ($47) per month.  We have water and electricity.  The house is made of adobe with a tin roof.  The floors in the rooms are concrete and the floor in the kitchen is dirt.  My family does not travel to the coast to work as some families do.  I am in the 2nd grade.  My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the cat.  The food that I like best is grilled beef.  In my free time, I like to play dolls, to draw and to color.  My family attends a Catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Naydelin Estefani Batz Mendez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00