Alex Alberto Garcia Calachij
Ref# CA1755

About Me
My name is Alex Alberto Garcia Calachij. I'm a 9-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
February 25, 2013.
Attends Program

Chuchucá

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major crops. The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! How are you? My name is Alex Alberto Garcia Calachij, and I am happy to tell you about me. I was born on February 25, 2013, and I am 8 years old. I am a healthy boy and I am in first grade this year. I keep playing soccer, toy cars and bowling in my free time. I love green color, and I like elephants. My favorite food is fried chicken. I have one brother and one sister. I live about 20 minutes far away from the feeding program. I used to walk to the program with my friends but it is closed at the moment due to the pandemic. We are attending the Catholic Church and we have mass on Monday and Friday.

My father’s name is Hugo Leonel Garcia De La Cruz, and he works as a farmer. My mother’s name is Juana Calachij Barrera, and she is a housewife. My dad goes to work to the coast when it is the sugar cane and coffee beans harvest, and my mom sometimes accompanies him; when it happens, my siblings and I stay under the care of our grandmother Isabel. We live in my grandmother’s house and we share the home expenses with her. She raises hens, turkeys and pigs for selling when she is in need of money. The house is made of adobe with a tin sheet roof, and it has two rooms and one kitchen. We use candles at nights and get the water from a natural spring that is near our house. This is my personal information, and I hope you can find it interesting.

Hugs and kisses

Alex Alberto Garcia Calachij

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/AAC Secretary, Antigua