Ana Lucrecia


Gender Female
Birth Date Jun 01, 2015
Age 4 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Pasojoc III
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

PT0041                                     

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello, my name is Ana Lucrecia Grave Morales.  I was born on June 1, 2015 and I am four years old.  I am basically a healthy child.  I walk about 20 minutes to get to the feeding program here at Pasojoc III, but I walk 2 ½ hours to get to the program at Pasojoc I.  My father’s name is Victor and he is a farmer.  He grows corn and beans for our own consumption.  He also travels to the coast to cut cane for six months.  My mother’s name is Vilma and she is a housewife.  She also has some domestic that she sells when they are grown to earn extra money for our expenses.  I live with my parents and my brother in in the house with my paternal grandparents.  It is two rooms with a separate kitchen.  The house is made of adobe with a tile roof and a dirt floor.  We have water and electricity.  I do not go to school yet, so I spend my time playing with my little brother.  My favorite color is purple and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are watermelon and fried chicken.  Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Ana Lucrecia Grave Morales       

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00