Leandra Dervishi
Ref# KA1304

About Me
My name is Leandra Dervishi. I'm a 3-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 11, 2019.
Attends Program

Katjel

Program Country

Albania

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

 Hello! My name is Leandra Dervishi. I am 3 years old and my birthday is on April 11th. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is pink and my future dream is to become a doctor. I will start to frequent the kindergarten on September for the first time and I am very excited to meet with new friends and get to know my kindergarten teacher who will learn to me new things. I spend the day playing with my friends. We meet to play early in the morning or late during the evenings, before it gets dark because summers are very hot in our country. Our games are simple as hide and seek, run races, jump with elastics, etc. We also choose to take our dolls outside our house to play in the roads, but very rarely. I like to use my dolls to play with them inside because I like to keep them clean. I spend the time inside my house drawing, coloring and watching cartoons. I like to help my mother by collecting my things that are spread in the rooms during the time I have played. I also like to go along with her when she does the shopping or when she visits her friends so that she is not left to go by herself.   

My family and I live in the village of Katjel. I have my mother, father and a brother. My brother is eight years old and he is also registered in the programme. My brother frequents school and he starts school again on September, during the time that I will also be going ot the kindergarten. Both my parents take turn to bring us to church and to frequent the Bible classes. My father has to emigrate in Northern Macedonia or in Greece and works there from three to six months in order to provide for our living. The rest of the time when he is in the village, he remains jobless. Same as most of the people who live in the village, we own land and my parents plant crops and vegetables for consumption. Around our land and garden, we have also got fruit trees and we consume these fruits fresh during the summer and autumn. My mother collects fruits and she makes jam or juice for us to consume during winter. She is also canning vegetables as peppers, tomatoes, etc. We live with low income and we face other hardship that life brings for us who live in the countryside. We are very poor at present and I am very thankful to the Adopt a Child programme for the benefit I get being registered.

The Living Water Adopt a Child church in Katjel meets for the service during Saturdays. I go there together with my mother. The church has during the week Bible classes for children and other Bible studies for men, ladies and teens. In these classes we gather to learn from the Word of God about Jesus. During the summer, the church has organized two feasts for us children. The children’s day was very special and after that, we had a children’s camp for two other days with lots of singing, games and special sport activities to be part of. We have been blessed to receive food packages at the programme and the food is a provision for us and for our family. God bless you richly!

Translated by Martin Rucolli

LW/AAC Albania