Anderzon Noe Alvarez Yoque
Ref# NE2720

About Me
My name is Anderzon Noe Alvarez Yoque. I'm a 9-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
September 18, 2012.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Nueva Esperanza

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

NE2720

Nueva Esperanza, which means New Hope, is located in a slum area of Guatemala City, Guatemala.  An extremely poor area, our program is squeezed in among the shanty dwellings built over an old city dump.  Many houses in this area are without toilets or running water and are assembled with scrap wood, sheet metal, and cardboard.  Zone 5, where Nueva Esperanza is located, is considered one of the most dangerous areas of Guatemala City.  It is controlled by gangs and drug pushers.  Robberies and murders are common in this area.  Public education is available - however, many cannot afford it.  Life in Zone 5 is very difficult. This child lives on top of an old rubbish dump in Zone 5 of Guatemala City.  It is an extremely dangerous area where criminals, prostitutes and drug addicts live. Hello! I am so happy to greet you through this letter. I hope you are in good health along with your family. My name is Anderzon Noe and I am nine years old. I was born in Guatemala City on September 18th, 2012, and nowadays, I am enrolled in second grade. I want to tell you that my favorite hobbies are playing soccer, hide and seek and tag. My favorite color is sky blue and my favorite animals are cats. I like all kinds of food, but I love eating pizza.

I live together with my family in a place called “La Palmita” located in Zone 5. My mother’s name is Yasmin Alvarez. She struggles every day to support our family expenses. She works selling homemade snacks such as breads with egg, black beans and others. While she works, my grandma takes care of my siblings and me. My biological father’s name is Belki Garcia, but he does not live with us. In fact, I only have my mother’s last name because when I was born, he could not recognize me legally. He used to help us economically, but he stopped about six months ago. I only know that he works carrying packages or other things in a small company. We own a small house which is a little bit deteriorated. It has a bedroom and kitchen. Our home is made out of adobe, metal sheet roof and concrete floor with running water and electricity. Fortunately, the feeding program is about 10 minutes from our house. My family and I attend Restauration Church. I am very grateful to our Lord because we are all in good health. Finally, let me tell you that my mother assisted a member of the Evangelism team to get information about me, since the staff want to protect us from the current virus. This is all for now, but if you want to know something else about me, feel free to ask it.

With much love,

Anderzon Noe Alvarez Yoque

Translated by Hillary Popol / AAC Secretary