Amilcar Adrian Simaj Jimon
Ref# CC1531

About Me
My name is Amilcar Adrian Simaj Jimon. I'm a 7-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 21, 2014.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Cuatro Caminos

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Cuatro Caminos "four roads", where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life is this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Cuatro Caminos is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major crops.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! My name is Amilcar Adrian Simaj Jimon and I was born on May 21, 2014. I am seven years old. I attend the Cuatro Caminos feeding program. I am a healthy boy. I have four brothers and three sisters. I am not attending school yet due to my age. I really enjoy playing football. My favorite color is black and my favorite animal is the rabbit. I love to eat chicken rice. At the moment, we do not attend a church. My father´s name is Carmen Simaj Morente, and my mother´s name is Maria Jimon Morente. My father works as a farmer and as a day laborer. He goes to pick coffee beans at the coast at the end of the year. My mother does the household chores and raises domestic animals such as; hens and sheep. We have our own house which is made of adobe, tin sheet roof and dirt floor. We have one room with a separate kitchen. We have electricity. We do not have running water, so we get it from a hose because we have a stream near our house. My siblings and I walk about ten minutes to attend the feeding program.

Blessings and much love,

Amilcar Adrian Simaj Jimon

Translated by: Esther Hernández, AAC Secretary/Antigua