Jose Ruben Garcia Carcuz
Ref# WJT0013

About Me
My name is Jose Ruben Garcia Carcuz. I'm a 77-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
October 31, 1943.
Sponsorship Type

Elderly

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Hello! My name is José Ruben Garcia Carcuz and I am a 78 year old, single man. I was born on October 31st, 1943. I have two kids, one of them a girl and one a boy. They are both adults now. Earlier in my life, I was an alcoholic. This caused my wife and me to separate. She decided to take both kids with her when they were much younger. Now, none of my family helps me financially except for my son, who will occasionally give me Q50 so I can buy food. Thank God, there are many kindhearted people that give me food as well. I live alone on a piece of property that the municipality owns. I pay Q20 a year to live on this property. I have a single room made of tin sheet with a dirt floor. I do not cook because I do not want to burn myself, but I will occasionally make coffee in a galley. I have access to water, but I do not have electricity. I use candles for light instead. I recycle in many different areas in Sacatepequez from early in the morning until late in the day to make money. I do not like being shut in, so I stay out a long time on the roads. I make Q30 a week. With that money, I buy my necessities, however I am still in need of clothes and shoes. I have some blood pressure issues, but I cannot get access to a doctor or medical treatment for this. I am a 30 minute walk away from the feeding center. I do not attend church yet, but I believe in God and I am incredibly thankful for His provision.

Jose Ruben Garcia Carcuz

Translated by: Kalyan Marroquin / Missionary Intern