Alba


Gender Female
Birth Date Dec 04, 2012
Age 7 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Zacualpa
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

ZA4548

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Alba Cux Calachij.  I was born on December 4, 2012.  I am a healthy child and I walk about 10 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have three brothers and one sister.  Sadly, my mother passed away some time ago. Now, my father no longer lives with us.  He abandoned us about three years ago.  We actually live with my stepmother.  She takes care of us and provides for us.  She works in a local dining room to earn money for our expenses.  We rent the house in which we live, and we pay Q500 ($67) each month.  The house has three rooms and a separate kitchen.  It is made of bricks with a tile roof and a cement floor.  We have water and electricity.  My family has some hens, a dog and two cats.  I am in kindergarten, and when I am not in school, I spend my time playing with my dolls.  My favorite color is yellow and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are grapes and beef patties.  My family attends a Christian church.

With much love and many blessings,

Alba Cux Calachij

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00