Luis Felipe de la Cruz Jimon
Ref# PT0141

About Me
My name is Luis Felipe de la Cruz Jimon. I'm a 11-year-old.

My birthday is
February 19, 2012.
Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town. The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Mayans who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche; however, Spanish is becoming more common. The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night. Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors. Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans, and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows, and chickens.

My name is Luis Felipe de la Cruz Jimon. I was born on February 19, 2012. I am 10 years old, and I am in 3rd grade at school. I am in good health like the rest of my family; I like to play marbles in my free time. My favorite color is white. I love rabbits. It is my favorite animal. Meat is what I like to eat the most when my parents can buy it.

My father lives with us. He works so hard both as a farmer and as a day laborer to cover our needs, and besides that, he also travels to the coast to pick coffee beans to improve our incomes. My mother is a housewife, and she also sells chickens and sheep to contribute economically. I have three brothers and two sisters; fortunately, all my loved ones are in good health condition too.

We live in our own two-room house; it is made of adobe walls, tin sheet roof, and dirt floor. It has two rooms, a kitchen, and we have running water and electricity services. My father is the one who pays these bills. At home, we have domestic animal such as: sheep, hens, and turkeys. As a family, our basic needs are groceries and corn. We are members of a Christian Church called “Christian Life”. My siblings and I go to the feeding program, and we also have cousins registered in the Ministry, so all of us walk 20 minutes to be there. 

May God bless you,

Luis Felipe de la Cruz Jimon

Translated by Luisa Reyes/ A-A-C Secretary/Antigua