Heidy Yolanda


Gender Female
Birth Date Mar 16, 2013
Age 6 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Tunajá
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

TU2901

Tunajá is an area of the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  The inhabitants are Quiché Indians who trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  The prevalent language is the Indian dialect - Quiché.  The people are either farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Very little money ever changes hands as they use a barter system.  Public education is available - however, most families cannot afford it.  Electricity and running water are not available in most of the area.

My name is Heidy Yolanda Garcia Ruiz.  I was born on March 16, 2013.  I am a healthy child.  I have two sisters and one brother.  My brother also attends the feeding program and we walk about 3 minutes to get to the program.  My father’s name is Valentin and he works as a farmer. He grows corn for our own consumption. My mother’s name is Maria and she is a housewife.  She also weaves typical blouses to sell and earn money our expenses.  We own the house in which we live.  It is adobe with a tin roof and a cement floor.  It is two rooms and a kitchen.  We have water and electricity.  We have cows, chickens and dogs.  I am in kindergarten and when I am not in school, I spend my time playing with my dolls.  My favorite color is pink and my favorite animal is the chicken.  The foods that I like best are apples and fried chicken.  My family attends an Evangelical church.

With much love and many blessings,

Heidy Yolanda Garcia Ruiz

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00