Yansin Adolfo


Gender Male
Birth Date Jul 19, 2015
Age 4 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chuchucá
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

CA1684

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.

Hello, my name is Yansin Adolfo Cac Luis.  I was born on July 19, 2015 and I am four years old.  I am a healthy child. I have three brothers and three sisters who also attend the feeding program and we walk about 30 minutes to get to the program.  My mother brings me to the program when my siblings are in school.  My father’s name is Romelio and he is a farmer and sometimes works as a day laborer at whatever type of work he can find.  He also travels to the coast to cut sugar cane.  He leaves home in November and returns in May.  He leaves money for our expenses and he also sends money when he gets paid.  My mother’s name is Maria and she dedicates her time to taking care of the house.  She also sells peaches when they are in season but it all depends on how good the harvest is.  She has some hens and a pig that she takes care of which is actually mine. We own the house in which we live.  It is adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  It has two rooms.  We sleep in one and use the other as the kitchen.  We do not have electricity or water.  We use candles for lighting and we get our water from the river with a hose.  The water gets really dirty in the winter because of the rain.  We have two dogs.  I am not going to school yet, so I spend my time playing with my toy cars.  My favorite color is white and my favorite animals are chickens and pigs.  The foods that I like best are noodles and apples.  My family attends Prince of Peace Pentecostal Church.

With much love and many blessings,

Yansin Adolfo Cac Luis

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00