Selena Gomez Morente
Ref# CH4261

About Me
My name is Selena Gomez Morente. I'm 6 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
February 20, 2014.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chixocol

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Selena Gomez Morente.  I was born on February 20, 2014.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 15-20 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have five sisters and one brother.  My father’s name is Manuel and he is a mason.  My mother’s name is Marta and she takes care of our home.  We own the house in which we live.  It is made of patched adobe with a tin roof and a cement floor.  It has four rooms and a kitchen.  We have water and electricity.  We do not have any domestic animals.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my day playing.  My favorite color is pink and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are strawberries and fried chicken.  My family attends Prince of Peace Church.

With much love and many blessings,

Selena Gomez Morente

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary