Wendy Alejandra


Gender Female
Birth Date Aug 12, 2013
Age 6 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chixocol
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Wendy Alejandra Morente Ajqui.  I was born on August 12, 2013.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 40 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have four brothers and one sister and some of them also attend the program.  My father’s name is Pedro and he works as a farmer.  My mother’s name is Marta and she takes care of our home.  We own the house in which we live.  It has two rooms and a kitchen.  It is made of adobe with a tin roof and a concrete floor.  We have water and electricity.  My family does not travel to the coast to work as some families do.  We have some pigs and chickens that we sell when they are grown to have money for our expenses.  I am in the kindergarten, and when I am not in school, I spend my time playing dolls.  My favorite color is purple and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are grapes and beans.  Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Wendy Alejandra Morente Ajqui

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00