Ericka Vanesa


Gender Female
Birth Date Apr 29, 2014
Age 5 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chixocol
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Erika Vanesa Pol Tarse.  I was born on April 29, 2014.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 45 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have one brother and one sister.  My father’s name is Elias and he works digging sand from the river every day.  My mother’s name is Petronila and she takes care of our home.  We own the house in which we live.  It is made of adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  It has two rooms and we use one of these as the kitchen.  The kitchen is made completely of tin sheet metal.  We have water and electricity.  All of my family is in good health.  All of the family travels to the coast to work during the coffee harvest for two or three months.  The only domestic animals we have our hens.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with dolls or watching television.  My favorite color is purple and my favorite animal is the cat. The foods that I like best are watermelon, noodles and rice.  My family attends a Methodist church.

With much love and many blessings,

Ericka Vanesa Pol Tarse

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00