Erik Mateo Anderson de la Cruz De la Cruz
Ref# PT0251

About Me
My name is Erik Mateo Anderson de la Cruz De la Cruz. I'm a 4-year-old.

My birthday is
December 17, 2019.
Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Mayans who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche; however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans, and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows, and chickens.

Hello, my name Erik Mateo Anderson de la Cruz De la Cruz. I was born on December 17, 2019, and I am 4 years old. I am a healthy boy. I am not enrolled at school this year due to my young age, but I like to play with balls and toy cars. My favorite color is black. I love dogs and tigers. My favorite food is fried chicken. I have 4 brothers and 5 sisters, and three of them are part of the Feeding Program.  We walk for fifteen minutes to attend the Program. As a family, we attend the Prince of Peace Church. I am under the care of my parents. My mother’s name is Juana De la Cruz Mendez. She is a housewife and takes care of the family. Moreover, she weaves typical blouses to sell and get some income.  My father`s name is Lucas de la Cruz Garcia. He travels to the coast with the whole family and works as a farmer and day laborer to pick coffee beans for 3 months to support the family financially.  We live in our own house. The house has two rooms and a separate kitchen. The house is made of adobe, tin sheet roof, and dirt floors. We have running water and electricity. We have hens and turkeys at home. As a humble family, our needs are corn and groceries.  This is my personal information, and I hope you find it interesting. I want to let you know that my sister Susana Isabel gave this information to the LW evangelism team.  God bless you and protect you everywhere you are!

Lots of love,

Erik Mateo Anderson de la Cruz De la Cruz

Translated by:  Gladys Chavez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua