Yordi Emerson Alexis Ajqui Garcia
Ref# PA2135

About Me
My name is Yordi Emerson Alexis Ajqui Garcia. I'm a 6-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
July 7, 2018.
Attends Program

Pasojoc

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two-hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiché Mayans who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello, my name is Yordi Emerson Alexis Ajqui Garcia. I was born on July 7, 2018, in Zacualpa, Quiche, and I am 5 years old. I am a healthy boy. I am not enrolled at school due to my young age, but I spend my time playing with toy cars. My favorite color is green, and I love sheep. My favorite food is fried chicken. I have one brother. I walk to the program in forty minutes.  As a family, we attend the Christian Life Church. I am under the care of my mother.

My mother’s name is Marta Ajqui Garcia. She is a housewife and takes care of the family. Moreover, she does farm work in order to support the family financially. My father never legally recognized me because he abandoned my mother before I was born, so this is the reason that we do not have information about him. We live in our own house and our maternal grandmother lives with us. It has two rooms and one separated kitchen. Our house is made of tin sheet walls, tin sheet roofs, and dirt floors. We have running water and electricity. My mother and grandmother pay for the services every month. We have some hens and pigs at home, but we would like to have some chickens. As a humble family, our needs are groceries, beds, and wardrobes. This is my personal information, and I hope you find it interesting to read. I want to let you know that my mother gave this information to LW evangelism team.  God bless you richly!

Kisses and hugs,

Yordi Emerson Alexis Ajqui Garcia

Translated by:  Gladys Chavez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua