Dominga Estela de la Cruz Ruiz
Ref# CA1826

About Me
My name is Dominga Estela de la Cruz Ruiz. I'm a 12-year-old.

My birthday is
February 21, 2011.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiche, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiche Mayans who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system. 

Hello! How are you? I hope you are in good health together with your loved ones. My name is Dominga Estela de la Cruz Ruiz, and I am a happy and healthy 11-year-old girl. I am in third grade this year. In my free time, I like to play tag. My favorite color is red, my favorite animal is a cow, and my favorite food is rice.

Both of my biological parents live with me. My father works as a farmer, day laborer, or any job that is offered to him to support us economically. My mother is a hardworking housewife, raises domestic animals to later sell them, and weaves typical Guatemalan blouses to help support us economically. I have one sibling: 1 brother. I am joyful to say that we are all healthy, and God has taken good care of us. Also, we attend a Christian church. I live in a village called Chuchuca, and it takes me 5 minutes to walk to the feeding center. My humble house has walls made of adobe, the roof is made of tin sheets, and the floor is made of cement. There are four rooms and a separate kitchen. We are sharing this space with my grandparents and uncles. We also raise hens, pigs, and cows. We have running water and electricity at home. All residents split the cost of the utilities. The house belongs to my maternal grandparents, and they allow us to live with them rent free. Our greatest needs are groceries and corn. Thank you for all your support. God bless you!

The Living Waters Evangelism Team is speaking to families in Quiche by phone call. They spoke to my mother to receive information pertaining to me.

Kisses and hugs,

Dominga Estela de la Cruz Ruiz

Translated by: Kalyan Marroquin / AAC Missionary Intern