Maynor Mardoqueo de la Cruz Ajanel
Ref# PT0230

About Me
My name is Maynor Mardoqueo de la Cruz Ajanel. I'm a 8-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
June 10, 2016.
Attends Program

Pasojoc III

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Mayans who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiche; however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans, and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows, and chickens.

Hello, my name is Maynor Mardoqueo de la Cruz Ajanel. I was born on June 10, 2016, and I am 7 years old. I am a healthy boy. I am in 1st grade at school this year. My favorite color is blue. I love pigs.  My favorite food is eggs.  I have four brothers and four sisters. Five of them are part of the Feeding Program. We walk for thirty minutes to attend the Program. I like to play with toy cars at home. As a family, we are attending the Charismatic Group that belongs to the Catholic Church. I am under the care of my parents. My father’s name is Pedro de la Cruz Garcia. He earns a living by traveling to the coast for 6 months to pick coffee beans and cut sugar cane during the harvest season. He comes to visit us for 2 months. My mother’s name is Sebastiana Ajanel Ordoñez, and she is a housewife and takes care of us. In addition, she raises hens and turkeys to sell and get some income. We live in our own house. It has one room and one separated kitchen. Our house is made of adobe, tin sheet roof, and dirt floors.  We have electricity, but we have no running water. We get it from a natural spring by connecting a hose.  My parents pay for the electricity service every month.  We have hens, and turkeys at home, but we would like to have some chickens. As a humble family, our needs are corn and groceries. This is my personal information, and I hope you find it interesting. I want to let you know that my mother gave this information to the LW evangelism team.  God bless you and take care of you everywhere you are!

Kisses and hugs,

Maynor Mardoqueo de la Cruz Ajanel

Translated by:  Gladys Chavez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua