Marjo Spahi
Ref# UMD0046

About Me
My name is Marjo Spahi. I'm a 11-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
April 5, 2009.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Upper Mokra

Program Country

Albania

My Story

Hello! My name is Marjo Spaho. I am an11 year old boy and my birthday is on April 5th. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is black and my future dream is to be an actor and play in movies. I attend the sixth grade at school and am doing well with the lessons. The subject I like to study the most at school is Math. Because of the Pandemic, when we attend school, we need to keep the distancing and wear our masks inside the class. Right after school, at midday, when I return home, I offer myself to help my parents with all that I can offer. For example, I take fire wood from outside and bring them in when we need them. For a few hours I like to get together with my friends to play outside, but not for too long, as the winters are too cold here in our country. When my friends and I gather to play we usually choose to play football in the school field of our village or in the road. When we don’t play football, we like to have short distance walks and chat between us for a while.

My family and I live in Dunica. My village is located in Upper Mokra. The infrastructure is totally missing the the road of our village is in really bad conditions, filled with mud and with many holes that get filled with water during the fall. My father’s name is My father’s name is Nardi and my mother’s name is Olta. I have a 15 years old sister whose name is Era. My father emigrates for three months and working in agriculture he provides for our living but he earns too less and our needs remain still unfulfilled. We have got land in the village and my parents care for animals. We have a cow, a horse and a few chickens. Keeping animals is beneficial for us in the village. My father and my mother plant crops as well as corn, beans and vegetables. My mother has already preserved in a few jars tomatoes and peppers so that we can consume them during winter. In a portion of land, my parents have also planted alfalfa and oat which is used as stock food for our goats, cow and the horse. Around our land and garden we have got a few fruits trees as whole nuts, plums, apples and pears and my mother has already filled a few vases with compost and jam out of these fruits. During this season, my father takes the horse to go and collect wood in the mountain because he can’t offer to buy the fire wood that is needed for us to burn the fire and stay warm. I attend the program in Dunca. We gather to the house we meet in Dunica for Bible studies and children’s meetings and I go there with my class friends usually, but not during this time. We are respecting the distancing pandemic rules. The teens above 13 are allowed to gather and at present they attend the Bible studies. During the week, there is also another meeting for the older persons where many ladies participate to study the Bible. I go to the programe centre once a month and there I have been blessed with a package with groceries. This package contains sugar, oil, rice, flour as well as washing detergents. Same as all the people who live in Dunica my family and I live in poverty and we are thankful to the Adopt a Child sponsorship programme for the help and support to us. God bless you!

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a child Albania