Gjyle Karaj
Ref# WKD0005

About Me
My name is Gjyle Karaj. I'm 61 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
March 19, 1959.
Sponsorship Type

Widow/Widower

Attends Program

Kotodesh

Program Country

Albania

My Story

Hello! My name is Gjyle Karaj.  I am 61 years old and my birthday is on March 19th. Speaking about my heath, I am diagnosed by the doctors with spoliators. At times I feel the pain strong and need to use pain killers, but generally, I am doing well and am still working to make my living alongside with the persons in my family. Every day I do the cooking and the housekeeping myself so that my son and his wife will find it ready after they return from working in the fields or when they go out to feed our cow. After I do the cooking and the housekeeping, I like to go and see my neighbors for short while. Traditionally, we all meet to chat between us and enjoy a cup of coffee.

My husband passed away before nine years. Life was easier when he was present and since he died, everything changed and I am now left with less income and totally under the care and the support of my son’s family. My son is married and has children. Our family contains five persons and we all live in an old house that doesn’t offer appropriated living conditions.  On spring my son’s wife and I plated the vegetable garden and we provided for consumption beans, tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, etc. Previously we plated wheat and we had the harvesting time on July. We provide flour and bake the bread at home. The hay is used as stock food for our cow, but my son has also planted corn to provide more stock food for it. Keeping and carrying for a cow, we all benefit milk, butter and other products. Once a year we sell its calf and gain a bit more of income to buy groceries or clothes. Around our land and garden I have also got a few fruit trees and we have started to gather the apples, pears and plums to make jam or composts. We preserve them in jars so that we can consume them during the winter. I used to work in agriculture and at present I receive a retiring pension. With this amount I help my son to first pay the bills and buy the medicine that I need. Same as all the widows and the people of the village of Kotodesh, I face hardships financially and am very thankful to the Adopt a Child sponsorship program and to the church in Kotodesh for their help. I have received every month a food beg containing groceries as oil, flour, rice, sugar, pasta, washing detergents, etc. I attend the ladies meetings and the church services every week. I am happy that I can go there because I don’t get out too much. I am thankful to you for your support and care. God bless you!

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania