Eljana


Gender Female
Birth Date Jan 10, 2009
Age 10 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Rodokal
Program Country
Albania

Biography

Hello! My name is Eljana Kolneku. I am a 10 years old girl and my birthday is on January 20th.  I am doing well and in good health. I attend the fifth grade at school and am doing well with the lessons. School and the feeding programme are about an hour far from my home and I do this long walk every day. I meet every morning with my friends so I don’t walk alone and we do the same when we return in our home after school. I am doing well with the lessons at school. My favorite subject I like to study the most is Biology. My future dream is to be a doctor when I grow up. I like to get together with my friends every afternoon and spend a few hours to play with them. We enjoy playing volleyball. The winter is almost present and the days are short and are getting cold. For this reason we can’t stay too long outside to enjoy our time playing. I also like to help my mother at home with the cleaning or the housekeeping. I sweep and mop the floor or clean the dishes after our meals. I attend the feeding programme at Rodokal right after I finish school on Mondays and Thursdays. There I enjoy the food cooked and served to us and attend the Bible classes. At the end of the Bible lesson, we spend a while playing different games or fellowshipping. Once a year, I benefit a free dental care from the dentist offered at the dental clinic of our programme.

My family and I live in Low Rodokal.  My father’s name is Durim and mother’s name is Luljeta. I have two older sisters. My father is emigrating and working in Greece for six months every year. He is gets hired there in different jobs, at times in construction and at other times in agriculture. We as family own land and my parents have planted wheat just recently. My mother bakes the bread at home and we need to have flour provision that will last for the whole year. Emigration remains the main financial source for our family. What comes out working in the lands is too less to cover all we need for the living. During the autumn, my mother has collected the vegetables from our garden and she has preserved them so we have food stored to consume during the winter. She preserved tomatoes, peppers and other vegetables. My mother was also able to fill a few jars with compost and jam from the fruit trees we have in our garden. We have got a few apple-trees and plum-trees. The welfare of my family is not as bad because my father is working in emigration but our needs are still too many to be supported.

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child. Albania

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00