Maylen Estefany


Gender Female
Birth Date Jul 17, 2010
Age 9 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Zacualpa
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

ZA4506

Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Maylen Estefany Tzoc Lopez.  I was born on July 17, 2010.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 10 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have only one brother.  My father’s name is Luis and he works as a farmer and a day laborer.  My mother’s name is Julia and she is a housewife.  We live in the house with my grandparents and we split the expenses.  The house is made of cement block with a cement floor.  The roof is constructed in such a way that an additional level could be added later on.  The house has two rooms with a separate kitchen.  We have water and electricity.  My family does not travel to the coast to work as many families do.  We have one cat.  I am in the 2nd grade, and when I am not in school, I like to play hide-and-seek.  My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the dog.  The foods that I like best are strawberries and spaghetti.  My family attends Prince of Peace Church.

With much love and many blessings,

Maylen Estefany Tzoc Lopez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00