Rocio de los Angeles

Gender Female
Birth Date Oct 19, 2011
Age 8 years old
Sponsorship Type
Attends Program
Pasojoc III
Program Country



Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello, my name is Rocio de los Angeles Garcia.  I was born on October 19, 2011 and I am seven years old.  I am a healthy child.  I have only one brother who also attends the feeding program.  My mother’s name is Lilian and she works in the capital in a tortilleria (place where they make and sell tortillas).  She comes to see us once a month.  I do not know anything about my father.  My brother and I live with my grandmother.  She cooks and washes clothes.  Our house is made of adobe and wood with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  We have electricity but not water.  We get our drinking water from a small well.  I am in 1st grade.  My favorite color is pink and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are watermelon and grilled beef.  In my free time, I like to play ball with my brother.  Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Rocio de los Angeles Garcia

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options