Elvia Karina Ruiz Benito
Ref# CH3348

About Me
My name is Elvia Karina Ruiz Benito. I'm a 18-year-old.

My birthday is
April 14, 2006.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

My name is Elvia Karina, and I want you to know that I am delighted to tell you my last news through this letter. I hope you are doing well wherever you are. My family and I attend the local Catholic Church on Sundays and Mondays. My father’s name is Carlos Gutierrez Barrera, and he is 45 years old. He is a healthy man who makes a living as a farmer and sometimes as a mason. He also grows corn for our consumption. He usually rents a piece of land to cultivate. While he works outside the home, my mom keeps busy doing the chores. She also raises hens for our consumption. My mother’s name is Gregoria Ruiz Benito, and she is 46 years old. As for health, let me tell you that she suffers from body pain and bad headaches. She went to the health center of our town, but she is not under medical treatment. She takes natural medicine to feel better. We need groceries like corn at home.

I am 17 years old, and I am in good health. Nowadays, I help my mom to do the household chores. I would love to become a seamstress in the future. I also would love to speak Spanish. My native language is the Quiche dialect. The rainy season is my favorite because there is more water for us. I love drinking apple juice, and my favorite sport is cycling. I enjoy celebrating my birthday a lot because my family prays for me. To end this letter, I want you to know that my mom helped me to give all this information to a teacher of LW. Taking advantage of this opportunity, I want you to know that LW is a meaningful project for us because of all the help we have received. May God bless you for blessing me!

Many kisses and hugs,

Elvia Karina Ruiz Benito

Translated by: Hillary Popol/AAC Secretary/Antigua Guatemala