Felipe Enrique


Gender Male
Birth Date Nov 06, 2009
Age 10 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chixocol
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Felipe Enrique Ruiz Ruiz.  I was born on November 6, 2009.  I am a healthy child, and I travel for 15 minutes by bus to get to the feeding program.  If I walk, it takes two hours.  I have six brothers and one sister.  My father’s name is Juan and he works as a farmer.  My mother’s name is Rosa and she takes care of our home.  We rent a house made of adobe with a tile roof and dirt floor.  It has two rooms and a kitchen.  We have water and electricity.  We have some hens and turkeys that we raise and sell when they are grown to have money for our expenses.  I am in 3rd grade, and in my free time, I like to play ball.  My favorite color is blue and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are pineapples and fried chicken.  Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Felipe Enrique Ruiz Ruiz

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00