Juan Mario Alberto


Gender Male
Birth Date Apr 02, 2015
Age 4 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chixocol
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Juan Mario Alberto Lindo Morales.  I was born on April 2, 2015.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about an hour to get to the feeding program.  I have two brothers and two sisters who also attend the program.  My father’s name is Diego and he works cutting cane at the coast from November until May.  When he is here, he works as a farmer.  My mother’s name is Estela and she takes care of our home.  She also embroiders typical blouses.  We own the house in which we live.  It has two rooms including the kitchen.  The house is made of adobe with a tin roof and dirt floor.  We have electricity but not running water.  We get our water from a natural spring that is close to our house.  Sometimes all of our family travels to the coast to work during the coffee harvest in October through December.  We have hens, pigs and dogs.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing ball.  My favorite color is yellow and my favorite animal is the duck.  The foods that I like best are watermelon and beef patties.  My family attends a Catholic church,

With much love and many blessings,

Juan Mario Albert Lindo Morales

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00