Edwin Oswaldo

Gender Male
Birth Date Aug 04, 2011
Age 8 years old
Sponsorship Type
Attends Program
Program Country



Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is more than a two-hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello, my name is Edwin Oswaldo de la Cruz de la Cruz.  I was born on August 4, 2011 and I am seven years old.  I am in good health and I attend the Pasojoc feeding program.  My father’s name is Samuel and he is a farmer.  My mother’s name is Tomasa and she is a housewife. My family  travel to the coast to work every year.   We own the house in which we live. The house  is made of adobe with a tin sheet roof and a dirt floor. We do not have electricity or running water.  We use candles for lighting, and we get our water from a natural well.  I have just one brother and I do not have any sisters, and he is the one who walk with me to the feeding program. I am in 1st grade this year, and when I am not in school, I like to play ball.  My favorite color is red, and my favorite animal is the cat.  We have some domestic animals like fifteen chickens, two pigs and two dogs. The foods that I like to eat the most are fried chicken and bananas.  My family attends a  church called “Cordero de Dios.”

With much love and many blessings,

Edwin Oswaldo de la Cruz de la Cruz

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options