Marta Angelica Morente Barrera
Ref# CA1338

About Me
My name is Marta Angelica Morente Barrera. I'm 13 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 1, 2007.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chuchucá

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Hello! I hope you are in good health together with your loved ones. I feel so happy to greet you. I send you many hugs. I want to share with you a little about my family and me. My father´s name is Pedro and he works as a fast food cook in Guatemala City. He works for two or three months and he comes to visit us a week and then he returns to work. My mother does not live with us because she abandoned us some years ago and we do not have communication with her. She established a new relationship with another man and she has children with him. I live with my grandparents and they are: Santos and Jacinta. I have a younger sister but she lives with my mother. I only live with my grandparents. My grandfather Santos works as a farmer and he also goes to pick coffee beans at the coast. My grandmother Jacinta takes care of me.

At home, we raise some hens, pigs, sheep and we have two cows. Our animals find food around our house. This year, I am attending 4th grade. My favorite subjects are: mathematics and communication and language. My favorite sport is soccer. I do not have clear idea of what I want to be when I grow up, but I would like to find a good job and support my family economically. We like Christmas time and we prepare ¨tamales and ponche¨ (typical dish and hot fruit drink), and we have a family get together.  We attend Church of Christ, and I like to sing praises and learn about God´s Word. At home, I help my grandmother with the chores at home. I thank you for supporting me through the feeding program because it is a great blessing for me. I thank God for your lives. I hope you are receiving many blessings from God. Take care of yourself. I hope to hear from you soon.

In Jesus name,

Marta Angelica Morente Barrera

Translated by: Esther Hernandez/AAC Secretary/Antigua