Irma Garcia Gomez
Ref# CA0940

About Me
My name is Irma Garcia Gomez. I'm 16 years old.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 30, 2003.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Chuchucá

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Hello dearest sponsor!  I send you greetings with all my heart hoping that you are enjoying good health.  I want to tell you that my family and I are all healthy. There are seven siblings in my family and the oldest are already married.  I live with my parents.  My father works farming the land and he also travels to the coast to work for two months during the coffee harvest.  My mother is a housewife and she also weaves typical items.  She is teaching me how to weave.  I am no longer studying.  Last year I was in the 6th grade for three months, but I stopped going to school because I was offered the chance to work in the capital in a tortilleria (place where tortillas are made and sold).  I went for two months, but the work there is hard so I returned home.  Now, I do not have the desire to study.

  My hope is to weave and sell enough items each month so that I can earn money to help my family.  At home, I help my mother with the housework.  In the afternoons, I play tag with my siblings.  I really like Christmas.  Last year, we prepared a special dinner and later I lit firecrackers with my siblings.  My family and I go to the Church of Christ.  I always go on the days they have services because I sing the praises to God and I help in the church.  I have been thinking about making the decision to give my life to Jesus.  It is a very serious decision, therefore, I am thinking about it a lot.  Before Christmas, we went through a sad time because my grandmother passed away.  She was very old and it was hard for us when she passed away, but God is giving us the strength to go head.  Thank you for all your support. God bless you always.

Blessings and much love,

Irma Garcia Gomez

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary