Maria Jose Guarcas
Ref# CA1834

About Me
My name is Maria Jose Guarcas. I'm a 11-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
May 23, 2013.
Attends Program

Chuchucá

Program Country

Guatemala

Sponsorship Type

Child

My Story

It is my pleasure to greet you and I hope you are doing great. I am so happy to tell you that my family and I attend Assembly of God Church, and we go on Tuesdays and Fridays. We appreciate so much the encouraging words that LW staff gave us this time. I am so thankful to God because my family and I are healthy. My biological father abandoned us, and we do not know him. My mother is Manuela Guarcas Pol, and she is 31 years old. She does the chores at home, and she also raises hens and pigs for selling if we have some need. Furthermore, we grow corn just for our consumption. My stepfather is Camilo Ordonez Coj and he is 47 years old. He works in a car-wash and sends us monthly support.

I am Maria Jose Guarcas, and I am a 10-year-old girl. I am a second-grade student, and my classes are at school, and it is easy to comprehend the lessons. Supporting me at school is hard for my mother and stepfather. Now, everything is expensive, and they do not have enough resources. My native language is K'iche´ Mayan dialect, and I would like to learn to speak Spanish because I would like to communicate better with other people. When I grow up, I would like to be a teacher and get a good job. I love eating cake. I have one on my birthday, and I enjoy it a lot. My mother prepares a delicious oatmeal, and it is my favorite beverage. Playing football is so much fun; it is my favorite sport. I like firecrackers; I light some of them at Christmas time. Being part of Living Water is a big blessing for me; I have received support in many ways which is a great help to me. My family needs groceries and corn. I look forward to hearing from you soon. May God bless you wherever you are!

Best wishes,

Maria Jose Guarcas

Translated by: Violeta Hernandez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua Guatemala