Sabino Calachij Gomez
Ref# PA2033

About Me
My name is Sabino Calachij Gomez. I'm a 7-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
October 1, 2014.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Pasojoc

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps. The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello, my name is Sabino Calachij Gomez. I was born on October 1, 2014, and I am 7 years old. I am a healthy boy, and I am in kindergarten this year. I keep playing with my toy cars at home. I love green, and I like rabbits. My favorite food is fried chicken. I have six brothers and two sisters. I live about one hour away from the feeding program; my mother accompanies me to the program. We are not attending a church at the moment.

I am under the care of my parents. My father’s name is Carlos Calachij Jimon, and he works as a farmer and day laborer. My mother’s name is Manuela Gomez De La Cruz, and she is a housewife and raises hens and sheep. My whole family goes to pick coffee beans at the coast for two or three months. We live in our own house which has two rooms and one kitchen; the rooms are made of adobe with a tin sheet roof and dirt floor, and the kitchen is made of sticks with a tin sheet roof. We do not have electricity, so we use candles at night. We use hoses to bring water from a small river. This is my personal information, and I hope you can find it interesting.

Blessings and hugs

Sabino Calachij Gomez

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/AAC Secretary, Antigua