Luisa Fernanda Simaj Ajanel
Ref# JT2587

About Me
My name is Luisa Fernanda Simaj Ajanel. I'm a 14-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
February 1, 2007.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Jocotenango, where your child lives, is in the state of Sacatepéquez, Guatemala and is a suburb of Antigua. It is an urban environment and is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). Most of the children attend school, but financial hardship affects many families and forces most of the children to leave after the sixth grade.  Only one out of ten children finishes high school. Children in this area face temptations from gangs and drugs.

Hello, my name is Luisa Fernanda Simaj Ajanel. I was born on February 1, 2007, and I am 14 years old. I am a healthy girl, and I am in eighth grade this year; I am receiving study guides every week. I play tag and hide-and-seek with my friends in my free time. I love pink, and I like dogs. My favorite typical dish is “pepian”. I have one brother and two sisters. I live about 15 minutes away from the feeding program. We are attending a Christian Church called Prince of Peace.

My father’s name is Samuel Simaj Mas, and he works as a shoe shiner and street vendor; he usually sells newspapers and lottery tickets. My mother’s name is Maria Elena Ajanel Tzalam, and she has a small tortillas business; I help her to make tortillas. We live in a rented three-room house made of concrete block with a tin sheet roof and cement floor. We have running water and electricity. This is my personal information, and I hope you can find it interesting.

With much love

Luisa Fernanda Simaj Ajanel

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/AAC Secretary, Antigua