Alexander Ajqui Mechen
Ref# CA1912

About Me
My name is Alexander Ajqui Mechen. I'm a 9-year-old.

My birthday is
February 28, 2015.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Chuchuca, where your child lives, is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world. It is more than a two-hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa. Chuchuca is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major crops. The Quiché Mayans who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization. They normally speak a Mayan dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common. Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello! My name is Alexander Ajqui Mechen. I was born on February 28, 2015, and I am 8 years old. I am not attending school because I do not want to since the school is far away from home. For now, I enjoy playing ball and spinning tops. I like the color black, and the animal I like the most is the horse. I love eating chicken and rice. I have one brother and two sisters; fortunately, my family and I are healthy. My father´s name is Francisco Ajqui Mendez. He is a farmer and works in our village however, he recently left to work in a grocery store in Guatemala City; he is responsible for supplying the home needs. My mother´s name is Cristina Mechen Gomez. She is a housewife, but she weaves typical items to sell and contribute with the home expenses. We raise hens and a cow.

We are a Catholic family. Since we do not have our own house, my paternal grandparents have given us a space in their house to live. Two of my uncles also live there. It is an adobe house with a tin sheet roof and a floor that is just dirt; there are three rooms and the kitchen is separate. We have running water but no electricity service; however, we have a solar panel to get light at home. As a family, our most basic needs are food, clothing, and footwear. I live 45 minutes away from the feeding program. My mother Cristina Mechen provided my personal information to the Living Water staff for my registration in the program. Take care of yourself. Many blessings!

Bunch of hugs,

Alexander Ajqui Mechen

Translated by: Violeta Hernandez / A-A-C Secretary-Antigua Guatemala