Maria Isabel Fernandez Acajabon
Ref# WJT0016

About Me
My name is Maria Isabel Fernandez Acajabon. I'm a 74-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
November 5, 1946.
Sponsorship Type

Elderly

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Hello, my name is Maria Isabel Fernandez Acajabon and I was born on November 05th, 1946. I am currently 75 years old. I live in Colonia Las Victorias, Jocotenango, about a 05-minute walk from the feeding program. I am a single mother and I have one son and one daughter which are adults already. I cover my expenses by making tortillas in a small shop but they do not give me money, only my lunch or dinner sometimes. I also wash clothes for others and earn Q50 (a little less than $6.67) a week. Nevertheless, I do not have work all the time and I worry for the rent every month. I do not count on my children´s support because they live in another department. Only my son visits me sometimes, but does not help me economically. I am currently surviving with a savings, but I just have Q400 = $ 53.33 left and I cannot find another job due to my advanced age.

I live alone in rented humble room made of tin sheet roof and walls with a cemented floor. There is running water and electricity that the owner pays, but I have to cook in the same room. I pay monthly Q200.00 (a little less than $26.67) for rent. I do not have any pets at home. Thankfully, I do not suffer from any illnesses, just that I sometimes have body pain due to my work. Nevertheless, I have many needs but the main one is groceries. The the moment, I am not attending any Church because the one that I attended closed so I am thinking to start attending Liberty Church. I thank God for His love and Mercy to my life.

Maria Isabel Fernandez Acajabon

Translated by: Mireya de Sandoval / AAC Secretary