Maria Castro Tiquiram
Ref# WZA0008

About Me
My name is Maria Castro Tiquiram. I'm a 63-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
December 1, 1957.
Sponsorship Type

Elderly

Attends Program

Zacualpa

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Hello, my name is Maria Castro Tiquiram. I was born on December 01st, 1957. I am 64 years old. I live in El Calvario, Zacualpa about a 10-minute walk from the feeding program. I am a widow and have 3 sons and 4 daughters from whom three are adults and two are still young and under my care. Their names are Josefina and Fredy; both of them are part of the feeding program. I work in a tortilla shop and earn Q25 (a little less than $3) a day but not all the time. Besides that, I also travel to the coast at the end of the year to earn extra money to support Fredy´s studies. He is studying to become an accountant. One of my daughters is working as a maid, and in exchange for her work her boss gives us a place to live. However, we wonder how much time we have left because the owners are planning to build other things. In addition, my son Elias helps us sometimes. We have some good weeks in which we earn Q200 (a little less than $27).

We live in a humble house made of tile roof, adobe walls and concrete floor. There is one room with a separate kitchen, running water and electricity that the owner pays every month. About my health, I suffer from body pain due to my age. We have many needs such as groceries, clothes, shoes, and a place to live. I ask your prayers for my family and me so God can provide for our needs. I am a member of The Evangelical Church and thank God for every blessing given to my life.

Maria Castro Tiquiram

Translated by: Mireya de Sandoval / AAC Secretary