Martina Ic Garcia
Ref# WJT0014

About Me
My name is Martina Ic Garcia. I'm a 91-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
November 12, 1929.
Sponsorship Type

Elderly

Attends Program

Jocotenango

Program Country

Guatemala

My Story

Hello, my name is Martina Ic Garcia and I was born on November 12th, 1929. I am currently 92 years old. I live in Colonia Los Llanos, Jocotenango about a 10-minute walk from the feeding program. I am a single mother and I have one son and one daughter. I do not work due to my age, but try to contribute with the incomes by selling bananas on the streets. I usually go out two days a week and earn Q50.00 (a little less than $ 7 every day). I live with my son who is 53 years old. He makes a living by working as a mason´s helper and covers all of our needs. Besides that, my daughter comes every day to do the house cleaning because she does not have the resources to give me money. So, that is the way she helps me.

Thankfully, we own a small humble house made of tin sheet roof, block walls and dirt and cemented floor. There are two rooms and a separated kitchen with running water and electricity. We monthly pay for our services. I only have one hen and a rooster at home. About my health, I have a sore in my right foot because a long time ago I went to gather firewood and I got hurt. I do not remember exactly what had happened to me, but I did not go to the doctor. For that reason, I recently started to have problems with that injury, so I went to the local health center. I am being treated there currently. I have many needs such as clothes, shoes, and groceries. We are member of the Catholic Church and thank God for His love and Mercy to our lives.

Martina Ic Garcia

Translated by: Mireya de Sandoval / AAC Secretary