Dorini Doce
Ref# UMT0034

About Me
My name is Dorini Doce. I'm a 14-year-old.
Birthday

My birthday is
February 6, 2007.
Sponsorship Type

Child

Attends Program

Upper Mokra

Program Country

Albania

My Story

Hello! My name is Dorini Doce. I am a 13 years old boy and my birthday is on February 6th. I am doing well and enjoy good health. My favorite color is blue. I love sports and my future desire is to be trained and play football joining a team. I attend the eighth grade at school and am doing well with the lessons. I enjoy learning and my favorite subject at school is Language. Because of the Pandemic, we are wearing masks and respect the distancing while we attend school, but we are happy that we can go to school instead of taking the lessons at home. Right after school I get together with my friends to play football, but not as much recently because it is winter. We play rarely when it is dry and sunny. The winters are very cold and at times the temperatures go minus 13 grades Celsius. For this reason, the fire burns in our home all day. We already had the first snow and the roads in the next morning were icy and it was slippery and very cold. When we have the fire going at home, I chap wood and bring them in our living room so that I can help my mother. My family and I live in Pleshisht, Upper Mokra. This village is too far from Pogradec and during the winter we have difficulties to reach to the town because the roads are way too bad, covered with snow or mud. My father’s name is Durim and my mother’s name is Anila. I have two sisters. They are Aldinia, 21  years old and Aleksandra 17 years old. My family and I, same as all the other ones in my village deal with agriculture. My parents usually plant vegetables and wheat. My mother besides the housekeeping is also working together with my father in the land. She is working in the vegetable garden and during the autumn she preserves tomatoes or peppers for us to have food provision during the winter. We have also got beans from our garden to consume during the winter. Around our land and garden, we have also got a few fruit trees and my mother makes composts from these fruits. My parents have decided to keep no animals because it takes lots of effort to care for them. My father is emigrating for a season each year to work in Greece and provide for our family a better income. We are happy that he provides for us better working in this country. The local community of Trebinja is where my parents go often to receive different services from the offices there as well as to receive every month a small amount considered as social assistance. This amount is given our family because we are poor and what we benefit from agriculture or by my father’s job in emigration is not enough. I go to the place that the staff of Adopt a Child comes to do the Bible study meetings and the Bible classes regularly after school. I am happy that as I am registered in the programme of Adopt a Child, I am benefiting help spiritually and physically. Every month, I have received a package containing groceries and I am happy to learn from the Word of God as the teachers are teaching to us there. I am very thankful to the Adopt a Child for the first Christmas gift I received. God bless you for your constant care on me.

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child Albania