Ajla


Gender Female
Birth Date Aug 13, 2016
Age 3 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Katjel
Program Country
Albania

Biography

My name is Ajla Skura. I am a 3 years old girl and my birthday is on August 12th I started to attend the kindergarten on September this year for the first time. I was happy to go there and to meet with new friends. I spend the first part of the day playing with my friends there sharing the few toys we have got. I love to play with dolls and like to draw and color. My favorite color is red. I like to be a police when I grow up. The teacher at kindergarten is also teaching to us little poems by heart or songs. During the afternoons, after lunch I meet with my friends or cousins who live close to my home and spend my day playing with them. We play hide and seek, play with our dolls and create our simple other games as we come altogether. At the end of the day, we get dirty because we play in dirt roads but we enjoy very much the time we spend outside. I spend the evenings playing with my older brother whose name is Eldi. At present he is six years old and is attending the preschool kindergarten. I attend the feeding programme at Katjel every Tuesday and Friday. My mother or grandmother brings me to the feeding programme centre. I enjoy the meals and afterwards attend the Bible classes. At the end of the Bible lessons, I also spend a while to play with the friends I have got at the feeding programme. I benefit a free dental care once a year at the feeding programme dental clinic.  

My family and I live in Katjel. Our house has three rooms and offers appropriated living conditions to us. I have six persons containing my family who are my father, Durim, mother, Mislime, my older brother, Eldi. My grandfather and grandmother live together with my family and we share the same home with them. My father is emigrating in Greece to work there and to provide for our family. He is hired as shepherd or works in a farm where they care raising cows. He is hired for seven months during the year. We miss him a lot while he is away, but we are happy he provides well for our family. Same as all the people in the village, we own land and my grandparents together with my mother have planted alfalfa. We use this as food provision for our cow. We have a cow and my grandparents and mother feed it for a few hours every day. We profit a calf every year that my parents are able to sell and get a bit more of income. My mother every year plants vegetables in the garden we have in front of our home. She provides for us tomatoes, peppers, beans and anions. During this season my mother is preserving these vegetables so we have food stored to use during the winter. We have also got a few fruit trees as apples or plums and my mother is making jam or composts for us during the autumn. Both my grandparents are receiving a village pension and are also working in the fields. My family is not as poor and this is because my father is bringing to us a good income working in emigration.

Translated by Martin Rucolli

Adopt a Child, Albania

No sponsorship options available for this Child.