Celso Javier Ajqui
Ref# ZA4520

About Me
My name is Celso Javier Ajqui. I'm 4 years old.

My birthday is
July 29, 2015.
Sponsorship Type


Attends Program


Program Country


My Story


Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Celso Javier Ajqui.  I was born on July 29, 2015.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 45 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have one sister who also attends the program.  My mother’s name is Dominga and she is a domestic employee.  She works hard to provide for us.  Sadly, our father abandoned us about five years ago.  We do not have any communication with him.  We own the house in which we live.  It is made of adobe with a tile roof and a cement floor.  The house has two rooms and we use one of those as a kitchen.  We have water and electricity.  We own some hens and pigs.  When my mother is working, I stay with my aunt.  My favorite color is yellow and my favorite animal is the elephant.  The foods that I like best are watermelon and fried chicken. I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with my toy cars and balls or watching television.  My family attends a Catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Celso Javier Estrella Ajqui

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary