Carlos Eduardo


Gender Male
Birth Date Sep 30, 2013
Age 6 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Tunajá
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

TU2872

Tunajá is an area of the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  The inhabitants are Quiché Indians who trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  The prevalent language is the Indian dialect - Quiché.  The people are either farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Very little money ever changes hands as they use a barter system.  Public education is available - however, most families cannot afford it.  Electricity and running water are not available in most of the area.

Hello, my name is Carlos Eduardo Garcia Ruiz.  I was born on September 30, 2013.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about 10-15 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have two brothers and three sisters.  One of my sisters also attends the feeding program.  My father’s name is Carlos and he is a farmer.  My mother’s name is Estela and she is a housewife.  We own the house in which we live.  It is made of cement block with a tin roof and a cement floor.  It has two rooms and a kitchen.  We have electricity, and we use a pump to get our water from a small well.   My family does not travel to the coast to work during the coffee harvest as many families do.  We have some hens, pigs, cats and a dog.  I am in kindergarten and when I am not in school, I like to play hide-and-seek.  My favorite color is green and my favorite animal is the dog.  The foods that I like best are apples and carne de res (typical Guatemalan dish). My family attends Prince of Peace church.

With much love and many blessings,

Carlos Eduardo Garcia Ruiz

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00