Fernando Garcia Cuin
Ref# CH4592

About Me
My name is Fernando Garcia Cuin. I'm a 7-year-old.

My birthday is
January 14, 2017.
Attends Program


Program Country


Sponsorship Type


My Story

Chixocol, where your child lives, is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala. Life in this state is very difficult. Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small, attached kitchen. The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks. In the past few years electricity and water have become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare. Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors. Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello! My name is Fernando Garcia Cuin, and I am writing this small letter to tell you about me. I was born on January 14, 2017, so I am 6 years old now. I am in good health, and I am in kindergarten this year. I enjoy playing soccer in my free time. I like the color blue, and my favorite animal is the dog. I love eating eggs with black beans. I only have one brother, and he is part of the feeding program too. My mother, Olivia Cuin Aguilar, weaves typical blouses and raises domestic animals to cover our needs. My maternal great-grandparents, Juana and Miguel, help us a little financially.  My father’s name is Rolando Garcia Ajqui, but he does not live with us because he had personal problems with my mother and left us. He is not supporting us financially. My family and I are attending Ebenezer Methodist Church.

We live in a house that belongs to my maternal great-grandmother, and we share it with my maternal uncles. The house has three rooms and a separate kitchen, and they are made of adobe with a tile roof and concrete floor. Thankfully, we have running water and electricity; my maternal great-grandfather pays these bills. We have hens and turkeys as domestic animals. We are a humble family, and our frequent needs are groceries and clothes. The feeding program is located 20 minutes away from my house, and I take a moto-taxi to arrive there and enjoy a delicious lunch. I tell you that my mom helped me to give this information to LW Evangelism team, and I am happy to be part of this Ministry. I hope you find my information interesting.

With much love

Fernando Garcia Cuin

Translated by: Loyda de Osorio/A-A-C Secretary, Antigua Guatemala