Maggali Ester


Gender Female
Birth Date Jul 06, 2010
Age 9 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Chixocol
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

Chixocol is a very small village nestled in a mountain valley in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this state is very difficult and somewhat isolated from the outside world.  Most families live in one-room adobe houses with dirt floors and a small attached kitchen.  The extremely poor live in houses made of corn stalks.  In the past few years electricity and water has become available to most people in the area - however, indoor plumbing is very rare.  Most of the families are farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Public education is available for those who can afford it and consider it of value.  Life in Quiché is always a challenge.

Hello, my name is Maggali Ester de la Cruz Garcia.  I was born on July 6, 2010.  I am healthy child, and I walk about five minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have three brothers and two sisters.  My father’s name is Carlos and he drives a truck that carries construction materials.  My mother’s name is Rosa and she takes care of our home.  We own the house in which we live.  It has five rooms and a kitchen. The house is made of brick with a granite floor. We have electricity and water.  We grow corn for our own consumption.  We also have some domestic animals: chickens, turkeys, pigs and dogs.  I am in 1st grade, and when I am not in school, I like to play with my dolls.  My favorite color is pink and my favorite animal is the chicken.  The foods that I like best are pears and fried chicken.  My family attends Liberty Church Chixocol. 

With much love and many blessings,

Maggali Ester de la Cruz Garcia

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/ AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00